New Zealand Visiting Fellowship for 2024, University of Canterbury

  • Location: University of Canterbury, Upper Riccarton, New Zealand
  • Deadline: Dec 4 2023 at 12:00PM

The Information Systems group at the University of Canterbury is seeking a visitor (as an Erskine fellow) in 2024. In 2024, possible teaching weeks are - Semester 1: (Term 2) 22 April - 31 May and Semester 2: (Term 3) 15 July - 23 August and (Term 4) 09 Sept to 18 October (with a 2-week teaching break, 24 August - 8 Sept). A minimum of 6 weeks is preferred, and longer visits up to 90 days are desirable.

The successful nominee would be invited as an Erskine Fellow to the UC Business School. Please note that all Erskine Programme Fellowships are primarily teaching Fellowships. The visitor will be expected to make a contribution to teaching and to research in the IS group. This may take various forms, for example, teaching in IS-related graduate/ undergraduate courses, graduate seminars, as well as seminar presentations, research workshops, and research collaboration with staff. There will also be an opportunity for the successful Erskine fellow to offer a full course, graduate seminar or workshop tailored to one's interests and expertise.

ELIGIBILITY:To be eligible for an Erskine Fellowship, interested persons must hold the position of full professor or associate professor (or equivalent), and have well-established research record as evidenced by papers in top journals.Persons with a range of teaching and research interests are encouraged to apply. Persons with teaching expertise in AI/Emerging Technologies, Web Services, Data Management, Business Data Analytics are especially encouraged to apply. Research interests may include but are not limited to Knowledge Management, Emerging Technologies, Sustainability, Data Privacy, Healthcare IT / IT for Health & Wellbeing.

The Erskine fellowship provides accommodation, a daily allowance and return airfares. Return airfares may also be available for a spouse or partner (conditions apply).
Previous Erskine Fellows include: Prof Anthony Vance (Virginia Tech, 2023), A/Prof Mary Tate (2021), Prof Allen Johnston (2019), Prof Rick Watson (University of Georgia, 2018), Prof Nir Kshetri (University of North Carolina, Greensboro, 2018), Prof David Schwartz (Bar Ilan University, Israel, 2016), Prof Sue Conger (University of Dallas, 2014, 2015, 2017), Prof Wynne Chin (University of Houston, 2013, 2006), Prof Sung Kim (University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2013), Prof Joey George (University of Iowa, 2012, 2008), Prof Niels Bjorn-Andersen (Copenhagen Business School, 2011), Prof France Belanger (Virginia Tech, 2009), Prof Laurie Kirsch (University of Pittsburg, 2007), Prof Carol Saunders (University of Central Florida, 2007), and Prof Rajiv Kohli (College of William & Mary, 2007). For more information about the Erskine program see TO APPLY:Expressions of interest for 2024 should be made to Annette Mills by email [email protected] by 04 December 2023. Please note when you would be available, and attach a copy of your CV, including publications and areas of expertise for both teaching and research.