2017 Lumen Prize

  • Deadline:
    June 1, 2017, 5:06 p.m.
  • Location:
    Global, the winners will be announced late September in London.

An international open call for artists engaged with digital technology.

Deadline: June 1, 2017

Welcoming submissions from March 22, The Lumen Prize is an international award that celebrates artists working with technology. Now in its 6th year, The Lumen Prize has awarded over $40,000 in prize money and is committed to supporting and widening the opportunities for artists working in the field of digital art.

The competition offers a total prize fund of $10,500, plus inclusion in Lumen’s annual programme of exhibitions and events which take place globally.

The prizes for 2017 are:
- The Gold Award ($3000)
- Moving Image ($1000)
- Still Image ($1000)
- Virtual Reality / Mixed Reality ($1000)
- 3D/Sculpture ($1000)
- Interactive ($1000)
- Web-based ($1000)
- Founder’s Award ($750)
- Meural Student Prize ($500)
- People’s Choice Award ($250)

Entries will first be reviewed by the International Selection Committee including Carla Gannis, Kelani Nichole, Alessio de Vecchi and Scott Draves to select the Lumen Longlist, the Jury Panel will then determine the shortlist and overall category winners.

The 2017 jurors are Doug Dodds (Senior Curator, Victoria & Albert Museum, London), Foteini Aravani (Digital Curator, Museum of London), Michael Takeo Magruder (artist), Tessa Jackson (independent curator and consultant), Weiwei Wang (Curator, Museum of Contemporary Art, Shanghai) and Bruce Wands (Chair Emeritus, School of Visual Arts, New York).

The closing date for entries is 1 June 2017 at 11:59 GMT; and the winner will be announced on September 21st in London.

In 2016 the Gold Award was presented to the Italian duo Fabio Giampietro and Alessio de Vecchi for Hyperplanes of Simultaneity, a virtual reality experience which transformed the traditional canvas into a 360° cityscape.

Previous shortlisted artists and recipients of The Lumen Prize have gone on to achieve success around the world including the British artist Andy Lomas, whose 2014 winning work Cellular Forms is now in the collection of the V&A; Alexandra Handal, winner of the 2014 People’s Choice Gold Award, whose web-based Dream Homes Property Consultants has recently been acquired by the Museum of Contemporary Art, Denmark; and Michael Takeo Magurder, recipient of the 2015 Immersive Environments Award for A New Jerusalem, who is currently artist-in-residence at The British Library.

Artists who have been long listed and/or received awards include: Jon McCormack, Carla Gannis, Golan Levin, Esther Rolinson, Fabiano Mixo, Sam Rolfes, Matteo Zamagni, Nicolas Sassoon, Claire Reika Wright, Marpi and onformative.

Key info:
- Administration fee of $45 - covers two entries, and each additional entry costs $22.50.
- You must select a category to enter from: Moving Image, Still, Web-based, 3D/Sculpture, Interactive, VR/AR, Student.
- The Student Prize is only valid for still and moving image.
- Digitised versions of traditional artworks will not be accepted.
- Deadline for submissions is June 1
- Longlist will be announced at the V&A Digital Futures on July 11th
- For more information visit www.lumenprize.com