4-week Summer Residency Opportunity for Media Artists

  • Deadline:
    Jan. 31, 2011, 11:59 p.m.
  • Location:
    Squeaky Wheel Media Art Center, 712 Main Street, Buffalo, New York, 14202, US

Squeaky Wheel’s International Media Artist & Filmmaker Residency, funded by the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts and the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA), is directed towards mid-career experimental filmmakers and media-makers. The purpose of this residency is to provide time and space for artists to continue an ongoing creative investigation through experimentation and learning. Residents are encouraged to use this time to learn or hone a new skill or technological process (film or digital) useful for their practice.

This four-week Residency offers access to Squeaky Wheel facilities, which includes a Mac lab with Final Cut Pro, Max/MSP/Jitter, AfterEffects, Isadora, DVD Studio Pro & Macromedia Flash (and more), Bolex 16mm & Super 8 cameras and Telecine, HD cameras, lights, microphones, 16mm production and post-production systems, 6-plate Moviola Flatbed, film hand-processing facilities, and other media production equipment (see full list at www.squeaky.org). Artist-in-Residence will receive accommodations, travel, and a $1000 honorarium/stipend.

Terms of the residency requires artist to use our facilities in the creation of at least one new work (or work in progress), premiere new work in our 60-seat micro-cinema and/or installation gallery alongside a presentation of related media works, and teach a community workshop relevant to the resident's own creative investigations. One residency will be awarded. The selected artist will be notified in mid-spring and must fulfill the terms of the residency during one month between May and August 2012.

To apply, visit our website to download form and submit your proposal via email by midnight on January 31, 2012.

Past artists selected to participate in this international residency include George Bagdasarov (Czech Republic, 2011), Ruth Sergel (USA, 2009), Cade Bursell (USA, 2008) Dan Monceaux & Emma Sterling (Australia, 2007), Jason Dee (Scotland, 2006), Ishmael Klein (USA, 2005), Esther Johnson (USA, 2004), Sandra Gibson (USA, 2003), Diane Bonder (USA, 2002), Anne Charlotte Robinson (USA, 2001), Mike Kuchar (USA, 2001) and Julie Murray (USA, 2000).