Seven on Seven 2016

Sat May, 14 2016, 12PM - 6PM

Rhizome’s Seven on Seven conference is an annual event that brings together leaders in art and technology and challenges them to build new projects through creative collaboration.

Founded by Rhizome in 2010, Seven on Seven foregrounds and animates important ideas and issues at the intersection of culture and technology through its novel format. Seven leading artists are paired with seven luminary technologists and asked to “make something”: an artwork, a prototype, a provocation, or whatever they imagine. What they create during their limited time together premieres at the conference, yet it often ripples out beyond that day.

This year’s conference, the eighth edition of Seven on Seven, will feature:

Miranda July (artist, filmmaker, and writer) and Paul Ford (writer and Cofounder, Postlight)
Jennifer Steinkamp (artist) and Rana el Kaliouby (Founder, Affectiva)
Trisha Baga (artist) and Mike Woods (Founder, White Rabbit VR)
Junglepussy (rapper) and Jenna Wortham (Staff Writer, the New York Times)
Hito Steyerl (artist) and Grant Olney Passmore (Cofounder, Aesthetic Integration)
Ingrid Burrington (artist) and Meredith Whittaker (Founder, Google Open Source Research Group)
Claire L. Evans (artist and writer) and Tracy Chou (Software Engineer, Pinterest)

Tickets can be purchased here. For the participants’ biographies and full event information, please visit the Seven on Seven website. The conference will be livestreamed online for free in collaboration with Refinery29.



Major support for the eighth edition of Seven on Seven is provided by founding partner, Wieden+Kennedy; Samsung 837; GIPHY; the Sara & Evan Williams Foundation; and CHOPT Creative Salad Company.

Exclusive media partner: Refinery29

Exclusive hotel partner: Ace Hotel

Additional support is provided by Paddle8, Electric Objects, and Print All Over Me.

Support for Rhizome’s public programs are provided by the Andy Warhol Foundation for Visual Arts and the Robert D. Bielecki Foundation and by public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts, with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature, and from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.