BIO
Artist/conceptualizer and professor (http://it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chiara_Passa ita). Studies: Artistic Lyceum, Fine Arts Academy of Rome where graduated; master in new audio-visual mediums at the Faculty of Modern Literature. Lived around. At the moment I’m living and working in Rome.

My artwork combines different media as: internet-art projects, animations, interactive video-installations, digital art in public space as site-specific artworks and video-sculptures. I develop also internet-artworks as widgets, apps and web-apps for mobile platforms.

Full CV at http://www.chiarapassa.it/Artisticprofile.html Resumé: http://www.chiarapassa.it/SelectedExhibitions.html
Discussions (3) Opportunities (2) Events (85) Jobs (0)
EVENT

Andrew Benson at the WAG - Widget Art Gallery!


Dates:
Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:40 - Wed Jul 11, 2012

Dear friends,

I'm glad to share with you the Andrew Benson's site-specific-exhibition made just for the WAG - Widget Art Gallery, on IPhone, IPod touch and IPad. June 11 th. 'til July 11 th. 2012.

Best Regards, Chiara

About the exhibition:

"All for you forever" animates an exquisitely decorated sculptural figure against a projected backdrop that throbs and crumbles as the multi-layered shell of a figure repeatedly punches itself in the face. Andrew Benson's web-site: http://pixlpa.com

About the WAG:

The “WAG" is a mini 3-dimensional, single room gallery that fits into your pocket 'cause I've developed it for IPhone, IPod Touch and I Pad.
Every month, directly on your mobile, The “WAG” hosts a solo digital art exhibition related to the dynamic site-specific contest. So, the Widget Art Gallery works both as a sort of kunsthall showing temporary exhibitions and as a permanent collections museum because conserves all the past exhibitions inside an online archive. For IPhone and IPod touch, just copy this url http://www.chiarapassa.it/wag/mobile/ in Safari and choose: “add to home” and the WAG's icon will be saved on your IPhone. Do the same for IPad but paste this other URL:
http://www.chiarapassa.it/wagipad/mobile/, or download the widget version for Mac osx dashboard at: http://www.chiarapassa.it/publicart.html . Past exhibitions at:http://the-widget-art-gallery.blogspot.com/

--
Chiara Passa - new media artist
chiarapassa@gmail.com
http://www.chiarapassa.it
http://www.ideasonair.net
http://it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chiara_Passa (Ita)
G+ https://plus.google.com/u/0/111456718123673932501/about


EVENT

Talking in string


Dates:
Mon May 28, 2012 17:45 - Tue Jul 24, 2012

Dear friends,

I'm glad to share with you my generative video installation "Talking in string", time variable.

Best regards, Chiara

"Talking in string" is a generative video installation inspired by the 'Rotor', famous Luna Park rotating carousel. "Talking in string"
develops into a cylindrical space around the audience that create the installation itself in real time by sending text messages via Twitter.
Also the not present public on site can participate as well by sending messages by their remote Internet locations. The sentences run a
recording system are displayed immediately – The texts speedily rotate around the space, changing direction, color, font, and some of them
ramble in absence of gravity - The generated phrases, dissolving and wrapping themselves around disoriented people who are watching as texts become 'strings', no longer readable. These ‘strings’ slowly disappear as light’s bundles surrounding the body of the spectators like colored trails left by comets or as if we were inside of Newton’s disk.
Video preview: http://www.chiarapassa.it/videoenglish.html Images: http://www.chiarapassa.it/talkinginstring.html

--
Chiara Passa - new media artist
chiarapassa@gmail.com
http://www.chiarapassa.it
http://www.ideasonair.net
http://it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chiara_Passa (Ita)
G+ https://plus.google.com/u/0/111456718123673932501/about


EVENT

Flavio Doricchi at the Widget Art Gallery - May 10 th. 'til June 10 th.


Dates:
Fri May 11, 2012 18:50 - Sun Jun 10, 2012

Dear friends,

I'm glad to share with you the Flavio Doricchi's site-specific photo-exhibition at the WAG - Widget Art Gallery, for IPhone, IPod and IPad. May 10 th. 'til June 10 th. 2012.

Best Regards, Chiara

About the exhibition:

A drop! Going down, rippling, exploding, walking away… but inevitably come back!
Flavio works in Rome as photographer and engineer.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/flyng2002/

About the WAG:

The “WAG" is a mini 3-dimensional, single room gallery that fits into your pocket 'cause I've developed it for IPhone, IPod Touch and I Pad.
Every month, directly on your mobile, The “WAG” hosts a solo digital art exhibition related to the dynamic site-specific contest. So, the Widget Art Gallery works both as a sort of kunsthall showing temporary exhibitions and as a permanent collection museum because conserves all the past exhibitions inside an online archive. For IPhone and IPod touch, just copy this url http://www.chiarapassa.it/wag/mobile/ in
Safari and choose: “add to home” and the WAG's icon will be saved on your IPhone. Do the same for IPad but paste this other URL: http://www.chiarapassa.it/wagipad/mobile/, or download the widget version for Mac osx dashboard at: http://www.chiarapassa.it/publicart.html
Past exhibitions at:http://the-widget-art-gallery.blogspot.com/

Chiara Passa - new media artist
chiarapassa@gmail.com
http://www.chiarapassa.it
http://www.ideasonair.net
http://it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chiara_Passa (Ita)
G+ https://plus.google.com/u/0/111456718123673932501/about


EVENT

Melodramz


Dates:
Fri May 11, 2012 18:50 - Thu May 31, 2012

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Toronto art critic David Balzer gets melodramatic with the launch of his first short-fiction e-book, containing illustrations by a roster of acclaimed international artists.
April 24, 2012: Art critic David Balzer—a contributor to The Globe and Mail, The Believer and Artforum, among others—launches his first collection of short fiction, Contrivances, on Friday, May 11, at 8pm at The White House Studio Project, 277.5 Augusta Ave., in Toronto’s Kensington market. Brooklyn-based online fiction magazine and e-book imprint Joyland are the publishers—and they’ve approached the project with unconventional panache.

“This is the best-looking e-book we’ve ever seen,” says co-publisher Brian Joseph Davis, referring to the eleven different artist illustrations in the book, one for each story. Marcel Dzama, Oliver Husain, Margaux Williamson and Janet Werner are some of the artists who have contributed work.

The stories in Contrivances are dark, whimsical melodramas—influenced
by Victorian lit, Lifetime movies, fan fiction, Old Hollywood and art-world gossip.

MELODRAMZ: A Night of Contrivances is the name of the party—an inventive approach to launching an e-book "in real life." An art exhibition of work in and related to the book, co-curated by Balzer and Daniel Gallay, is on view for one night only. In the tradition of Ronald Firbank and Pedro Almodovar, literary drag queens and kings do readings throughout the night—including Regina the Gentlelady (Light Fires/Gentleman Reg). After the readings, there’s a dance party with DJs Kevin Ritchie (Big Primpin), Luis Jacob (Love Saves the Day) and reeraw (Sheroes), who curates wall-projected gif-art of classic melodramas, on view throughout the evening. Admission is $8 and includes a copy of Contrivances, downloadable through a QR-coded postcard.

Full list of exhibiting artists: Marcel Dzama (NYC), Oliver Husain (Toronto), Margaux Williamson (Toronto), Sholem Krishtalka (Toronto), Janet Werner (Montreal), Alexandra Flood (London, UK), Emily Stoddart (NYC), Derek Aubichon (Toronto), Alison Fleming (Montreal), Vanessa Rieger (Toronto).

Full list of drag performers: Regina the Gentlelady (Light Fires/Gentleman Reg), Sean O’Neill and Liz Peterson (Events in Real Time), Lauren Bride, Bojana Stancic.

Full list of gif artists: Helen Adamidou (Barcelona), Gaby Cepeda (Buenos Aires), Manuel Fernández (Madrid), Tony Halmos (Toronto), Georges Jacotey (Drama, Greece), Rollin Leonard (Cape Elizabeth, Maine), Grace McEvoy (Dublin), Sally McKay (Toronto), Rea McNamara (Toronto), Lorna Mills (Toronto), Chiara Passa (Rome), Yoshi Sodeoka (NYC) and Giselle Zatonyl (NYC).

For review-copy or interview requests, please contact: Sarah Dunn, sarah@ecwpress.com, 416-694-3348, ext. 152 David Balzer, contrivances.collection@gmail.com or
info@davidkbalzer.com, 416-735-9918

GENERAL INFORMATION:
davidkbalzer.com/contrivances
ecwpress.com/books/contrivances-epub


EVENT

APREM/Exploration(s) #1 “The Labophone”


Dates:
Thu Apr 26, 2012 10:15 - Sat Apr 28, 2012

APREM/Exploration(s) #1 “The Labophone” will be held at the Fabrique de Théâtre, in Frameries (128 rue de l'Industrie) – Belgium - from
26th to 28th April 2012, from 2:30pm to 10:00pm every day.

Program: http://www.aprem-exploration1.net/programme.html

Website: http://www.aprem-exploration1.net/

APREM, standing for "Ateliers, Partage, Rencontres des Écritures en Mutation" (“Workshops, Encounters, Sharing of Mutated Scripts”) and
Exploration for… exploration, is an experimental device.

Its purpose ? Make digital, scene and visual artists, scientists, researchers, theoreticians working together, open up boundaries,
create and experiment, immediately exhibit to a public emancipated from the requirement of a show-able result. Think and act in using the
scripting tools that allow to pick up current social realities.

APREM/Exploration(s) #1 will focus on the transformations induced by the telephone since its invention: communication device, prosthesis,
IT exchange mean, the telephone has become an uncommon instrument for our new scripts. Complete program is here (in French).

Free bus transportation is organized between Brussels and Frameries. Translation between French and English will be provided on demand.

Bus reservations for the bus (compulsory) and for the three days (preferred): aprem.explorations@gmail.com or on the web site.

A co-production Le Cri and La Panacée, Contemporary Art and Culture, City of Montpellier in partnership with La Fabrique/Provincial Scene
Arts Department with the support of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation, Digital Arts Commission, of the Scene Arts Centre and of Transcultures

Valérie Cordy

--
Chiara Passa
chiarapassa@gmail.com
http://www.chiarapassa.it
http://www.ideasonair.net
http://it.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chiara_Passa (Ita)
G+ https://plus.google.com/u/0/111456718123673932501/about