Ph.D. in Critical Practice of Film & Digital Media at the University of California, Santa Cruz

  • Deadline:
    Jan. 15, 2010, midnight
  • Location:

University of California, Santa Cruz: Call for Applications

Ph.D. in Critical Practice of Film & Digital Media at the University of California, Santa Cruz

Deadline: January 15, 2010

The Film & Digital Media Department of the University of California Santa Cruz welcomes applications for admission to the inaugural 2010 class of its program for the Ph.D. in Critical Practice of Film & Digital Media. We seek applicants who challenge the boundaries of critical studies and media production.

For information on our program, faculty, and application requirements, please visit our website at

The program will house creative practice and theoretical knowledge as related forms of intellectual work and provide the underpinnings for students to realize a wide range of possible projects employing a diverse set of methods including those of cultural dissent, cultural studies, documentary, ethnography, feminist studies, historiography, media cultures, narrative, platform studies, psychoanalysis, queer epistemology, the reinvention of the archive, reverse anthropology, science studies, software studies, transnational and postcolonial studies.

Research within the program will span a large number of topics including avant-garde and experimental film and video; silent and classical cinema; digital, electronic, and new media; documentary; gender and sexuality; international cinema; participatory culture; public media art; race, ethnicity, nationality, colonialism and their intersections.

The flexibility of the program allows students to work closely with their advisers and the director of graduate studies to craft a personalized course of study that advances their intellectual and professional goals.

Online applications are welcomed October 1, 2009 through January 15, 2010 for our inaugural class, entering in September 2010.

Core Faculty:
Lawrence Andrews, Caetlin Benson-Allott, Sharon Daniel, Irene Gustafson, Amelie Hastie, Eli Hollander, L.S. Kim, Peter Limbrick, Chip Lord, Irene Lusztig, Margaret Morse, Warren Sack, Shelley Stamp, Gustavo Vazquez, Yiman Wang. See

For additional questions, please contact the Graduate Program Coordinator, Abby Young