Low Lives 3: International Festival of Live Networked Performances

POSTED BY: Jorge Rojas | Mon Apr 25th, 2011 9:19 p.m.
LOCATION: International - Multiple Venues and online

Low Lives 3: International Festival of Live Networked Performances
April 29 – 30 April 2011
Now entering its third year, Low Lives is an international exhibition of
live performance-based works transmitted via the internet and projected
in real time at multiple venues. The project celebrates the
transmission of ideas beyond geographical and cultural borders. It does
this by facilitating intergenerational and multicultural dialogue
through visual languages, new technologies, and contemporary
expressions. Low Lives offers local and global audiences a critical and
contextual frame from which to consider live performance in both the
physical and virtual space.
April 29: 5 – 9pm PST / 6 – 10pm MST / 7 – 11pm CST / 8 – 12pm EST
April 30: 12– 3pm PST / 1 – 4pm MST / 2 – 5pm CST / 3 – 6pm EST
Special Presentation:
April 29: 8–9pm PST / 9–10pm MST / 10–11pm CST / 11–12pm EST
On The Boards (Seattle) presents Catherine Cabeen and Company’s Into the Void in its entirety. This special presentation will be transmitted as part of the Low Lives 3 program.
Watch Low Lives 3 online:
Participating Artists
Annie Abrahams / Lukas Avendaño / Chloe Bass + Brian Balderston / Camille Baker / Tzitzi Barrantes / Rachelle Beaudoin / Black & Jones / Caroline Boileau / Catherine Cabeen and Company / Jennifer Chan / Tyrone Davies / Joseph DeLappe / dev01ded / Alfred Dong / Nancy Douthey / Eosin (Diana Combo) / Julie Fotheringham + Jarryd Lowder / Second Front / Scapegoat Garden (Deborah Goffe) / Carlos Gonzalez / Katelena Hernandez / Ajeesh K.B. + Santhosh V.S. + Hemabharathy Palani / Jayson Keeling / La La La Singers / Gabriela León + Saúl López Velarde + Daniel Weinstock / Shaun El C. Leonardo / Anya Liftig / Kristin Lucas / James Mbunju and Company / Saul Melman / Marcello Mercado / Jui Mhatre + Jaee Joshi / Julio Cesar Morales + Juan Luna-Avin / Irvin Morazan + Maya Jeffereis / Kendall Nordin / Molly O'Connor (Molliver) / Julian Palacz + Bernhard Garnicnig / So Percussion / SaBa / Marisol Salanova / Rosa Sanchez + Alain Baumann / Byd Sarret / Jenny Schlief / Carmen Sober / Alan Sondheim / Nathan Stevens / Zornitsa Stoyanova (Here[Begin]Dance) / Channel TWo / Frans van Lent / Claude van Lingen / Ginna Alejandra Vélez Carrasco / Rodell Warner / Ian Warren / Heather Warren-Crow / Rebecca Weiner / Paul Wiersbinski/
Presenting Partners
Alice Yard / Aljira, A Center for Contemporary Art / Attakkalari Centre for Movement Arts / AE District / Box 13 / Center for Performance Research / Chez Bushwick / Co-lab / Crossing Art Gallery / Diaspora Vibe Gallery / DiverseWorks / Elon University Department of Art & Art History / Fusebox Festival / Headspace / Konic Thtr / La Periferia / La Perrera / Living Arts / MACO, Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Oaxaca / Mascher Space Co-op / Mindpirates / Obsidian Arts / On the Boards / Portland Institute for Contemporary Art / QMAD, Queens Media Art Development / Real Art Ways / Simba Theatre Art International / SOMArts / the temporary space / Utah Museum of Fine Arts / Village Museum / WORM Vienna /
Experience Low Lives 3 at one of the following participating venues:
United States
Center for Performance Research (CPR) (Brooklyn, New York)
Portland Institute for Contemporary Art (PICA) (Portland, Oregon)
Utah Museum of Fine Arts (UMFA) (Salt Lake City, Utah)
Mascher Space Co-op (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania)
Aljira, A Center for Contemporary Art (Newark, New Jersey)
Obsidian Arts (Minneapolis, Minnesota)
Crossing Art Gallery (Queens, New York)
QMAD, Queens Media Art Development
Elon University (Elon, North Carolina)
On the Boards (Seattle, Washington)
Real Art Ways (Harford, Connecticut)
SOMArts (San Francisco, California)
Box 13 (Houston, Texas)
Living Arts (Tulsa, Oklahoma)
AE District (Miami, Florida)
Co-Lab (Austin, Texas)
MACO, Museo de Arte Contemporaneo (Oaxaca) La Perrera (Oaxaca)
La Periferia (Merida)
the temporary space (Nara)
HeadSpace (Nara)
Trinidad & Tobago
Alice Yard (Port of Spain)
Village Museum (Dar es Salaam City)
Mindpirates (Berlin)
Konic Thtr (Barcelona)
Attakalari Centre for Movement Arts (Bangalore)
WORM (Vienna)
Check local listing at
Founder and producer of Low Lives, Jorge Rojas, is a multidisciplinary artist and independent curator.
Low Lives 3 is produced in collaboration with Chez Bushwick, an artist-run organization based in Brooklyn, New York. Chez Bushwick is dedicated to the advancement of interdisciplinary art and performance and places a special emphasis on new choreography.
Low Lives 3 is funded in part by The Experimental Television Funds program. The Experimental Television Center’s Presentation Funds program is supported by the New York State Council on the Arts.