Starts:
Nov
01
2008
Project Launch:

Physical Virtuality

(0)
POSTED BY: Sander Veenhof | Thu Oct 9th, 2008 2:22 p.m.

PHYSICAL VIRTUALITY - "What's the weight of an avatar?"
A cross-reality interactive installation - Science Center NEMO (Amsterdam) and Second Life

On saturday the 1st of november, visitors of the NEMO Science Center in Amsterdam will be physically connected to inhabitants of the virtual world Second Life through an intervirtual balancing plateau.

The total weight of avatars standing on the virtual side of the plateau will be calculated and processed along with the weight of all people standing on the physical side of the plateau. This outcome will trigger the synchronised real-time movement of both the hydraulic powered and script controlled side of the plateau, resulting in an experience of indirect physical contact between real and virtual beings.

image

web-location: http://sndrv.nl/physicalvirtuality
physical location: Science Center NEMO, Oosterdok 2, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
virtual location: Second Life SLurl to be announced on sndrv.nl/slurl

Date/time: saturday 1st of november 2008

18:00 - 1:00 GMT
19:00 - 2:00 CET
10:00 - 17:00 PST

Link:
http://sndrv.nl/physicalvirtuality