Starts:
Jul
10
2007
Other:

PLACE RELATIONS, Kunstraum Walcheturm, Zurich

(0)
POSTED BY: Will Pappenheimer | Sun Jul 8th, 2007 9:17 a.m.

PLACE RELATIONS
Kunstraum Walcheturm, Zurich
Eteam (DEU)
John Craig Freeman (USA)
Will Pappenheimer (USA)

A special exhibition has been Installed at Der Kunstraum Walcheturm http://www.walcheturm.ch/ in Zurich. Switzerland during the Digital Art Weeks http://www.digitalartweeks.ethz.ch/web/DAW/PlaceRelations07 Tuesday, July 10 to Saturday, July 14 open daily from 14:00 - 20:00.

Live networked performances:
Imaging Place at Emerson Island in Second Life http://slurl.com/secondlife/Emerson%20Island/115/136/23/ on Tuesday July 10 from 14:00 - 16:00 CEST (5:00 - 7:00 AM PDT Linden Time). or for the duration of the exhibition.

Public Mood Ring http://PublicMoodRing.thruhere.net on Tuesday July 10 from 14:00 - 16:00 CEST (8:00 - 10:00 AM EST) or for the duration of the exhibition.

About the Place Relations Exhibition

The import of location in place-based artworks represents a set of relations that become visible as they are affected or reconfigured. The artists in this exhibition explore the potential of public space, geographic territory, architectural location, social relations, online informational media, and virtual 3D worlds to form situational works. Their methods include participatory performance, field documentation, new media interactivity and mixed media installation. Results emerge as a hybrid reading of community venture, memory map, psychogeographic inquiry and information aesthetics. The works are situational in revealing the conditions or potential of place. They appear momentarily, as a shift in the relations of everything that blends into city life, distant landscape, or the event-stream of global digital space.

Exhibition Host: Patrick Huber, Kunstraum Walcheturm

Link:
http://www.walcheturm.ch/