Starts:
Nov
16
2002
Other:

AFTERNEEN at CASCO, NL and at the ELECTRONICORPHANAGE in Los Angeles

(0)
POSTED BY: Miltos Manetas | Tue Nov 12th, 2002 1 a.m.

AFTERNEEN at CASCO, NL and at the ELECTRONICORPHANAGE in Los Angeles

www.afterneen.com
www.neen.org

This exhibition will be the introduction of NEEN, the first art movement of the 21st century, to Europe.

PEOPLE INVOLVED
Jan Aman, http://www.janaman.com, Andreas Angelidakis, http://www.angelidakis.com, Tobias Bernstrup, http://www.bernstrup.com, Boy in static, http://www.boyinstatic.com, Buro Destruct,http://www.burodestruct.net, Carbonated Jazz, http://www.carbonatedjazz.com, Mike Calvert, http://www.mikecalvert.org, Larry Carlson , http://www.larrycarlson.com , Michael Cervieri and the Contemplative Physiologists, www.contemplativephysiology.com, Mauro Ceolin, http://www.rgbproject.com, Aaron Clinger, http://www.aaronclinger.com, Deconcept, http://www.deconcept.com, Future Farmers, www.futurefarmers.com, Joel Fox, http://www.magicrobot.org, Yvonne Force, http://www.yvonneforce.com, Roya Jakoby, http://www.girlfish.net, Miltos Manetas, http://www.manetas.com, Teizo Matsumoto, http://early-adapters.com/, Jon Krusell, http://www.jonkrusell.com, Angelo Plessas, http://www.angeloplessas.com, Rafael Rozendaal, http://www.whitetrash.nl, Sawako, http://homepage.mac.com/oto_s/, Nobukazu Takemura, http://www.childdisc.com, Trinasim, http://trinasim.cjb.net/, Aki Tsuyuko, http://www.childdisc.com, Nikola Tosic, http://www.nekada.com, Mark Tranmer ( Gnac), http://www.gnac.co.uk, Mai Ueda, http://www.maiueda.com, Yi Zhou, http://www.aboutyi.com .

Early in the year 2000, Greek artist Miltos Manetas, with the assistance of ArtProduction Fund and Yvonne Force, commissioned California based branding company Lexicon to create a name for an art movement. Lexicon, (the creators of "Powerbook", "Embassy Suites" and "Pentium"), delivered more than one hundred terms. Manetas chose two : Telic and Neen. Telic, a name appropriated from linguistics, means "something directed or tending towards a goal or purpose; purposeful". For example "I am driving to Los Angeles" is a Telic statement. "I am driving" is not. Telos, in Greek, means "the end" or "the purpose". The word "Neen" was created by a computer program run by Lexicon. It is a palindrome (like Dada) and coincidentally, in old Greek, means "exactly now". Neen has been introduced in May 2000 in a performance at Gagosian Gallery in New York. This was the starting point for an international movement which grew by word of mouth and on the Internet. As Manetas declared in an interview for the internet magazine Salon: "Our times are Telic. But we want to see more Neen happen. "

After the Neen presentation at Gagosian, Miltos Manetas and Mai Ueda , moved to Los Angeles where they opened the Electronic Orphanage, a storefront space in the gallery district on Chung King Road. In March 2002 , EO , produced Whitneybiennial.com, an online exhibition which succeeded in stealing a great amount of attention from the Whitney show (The New York Times ran a story the day before the opening of the exhibition in New York, and most of it was dedicated to whitneybiennial.com).

AFTERNEEN, the new Electronic Orphanage exhibition which will open simultaneously at Casco in Utrecht, Holland and at The EO in Los Angeles, is based on the idea that today "real space is usually bad taste" and that the most interesting art of our times is happening on the web. The Internet will be super-imposed over the spaces of the exhibition. This is the Neen World which exists in Active Worlds.

In the NEEN WORLD computer avatars discuss the future. They walk around discussing ideas as the philosophers did in the ancient times. The World is private; you may enter by invitation only. You will have to know someone, or meet someone there (either a human or a "bot") who will bring you to different locations. Think of it as reflections of the subconscious of the different people involved with Neen, realized in the form of places by the Greek Norvegian architect Andreas Angelidakis.

"We like to live with one leg wherever we happen to be and the other in the Internet. We want to fuse the two and move between fiction and reality as if we were characters of a novel." All ideas are under construction and they will continue to be under construction during the show.

- check ( www.neen.org/neenworld ) to get the idea and contact us to get a password .

- see a sample of the installation at Casco, designed by Andreas Angelidakis : angelidakis.com/new2/neen/casco.htm

In the occasion of the After Neen , new Neen theories will be introduced such as the Contemplative Physiology by Michael Cervieri , the FourFortyFour theory and the EMINEM/ENIMEN theory .

- Neen : images, theories and situations that defeat the
categories of contemporary art, architecture, and design.

- We believe that web domains are the new art objects, that the screen is a
place to build homes and offices and we want to meet people who dress in a
brand new Avatar fashion. We want to listen music that is a loop and which
changes as we move around in the room, as it usually happens in a videogame .

- We want this music to open a new window in our perception and make a glass
of water appear on the table. We want something similar to a miracle : tech
that you don't need to know how to use and that in theory anybody could
manage but for some reason nobody does in the way we do .

Personal tech that is a product of coincidence and synchronicity.

In the past, poets have envision the encounter of an umbrella with a
sewing machine on a dissecting table : that is too banal today. We wish for
a new type of poets.

Or, we don't really care: we enjoy stay at home and look at the wall as
if it was a computer screen and as if soon, an important email will reach us through it.

Link:
http://www.janaman